New Adult? OMG! Yes! Well, I think, yes.

Ever since I wrote NO PEACE FOR THE DAMNED I’ve been asked what genre the book falls into and, in all honesty, I’ve never had a solid answer.  It’s urban fantasy in setting but the coming-of-age theme made it difficult to qualify the book as definitely adult.  At the same time, the main character is in her twenties – older than the teenage heroes and heroines of YA novels.  So where does that leave the lovely Magnolia?

Finally, I feel as if I might have an answer: New Adult!

In all honesty, I had never heard of the genre New Adult until my Suzie Townsend (and, yes, I do claim partial ownership of her) sent me an email about it last week.  She sent me this link with a great description of what New Adult is then went on to ask what I thought about marketing NO PEACE as an urban fantasy series in this newer genre.  My reaction: OMG! YES!!!

Now I want to know what you think.  What do you think about New Adult as a genre? Do you feel that Magnolia’s story fits in to the New Adult genre or does it better fit into another category?  I’d love to hear other people’s thoughts on this so if you have a chance, please let me know.  Thanks in advance, and in the meantime, I’m going to get back to my current WIP – a paranormal romance that I am having way too much fun writing;)

Leave a Reply

